AIA Nebraska: Continuing Education
  Continuing Education: General Information

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) was created in 1857. Through education, government advocacy, community redevelopment, and public outreach activities, the AIA works toward a public environment that is responsive to the people it serves while representing the professional interests of America’s architects.

The AIA recognizes that continuing education in architecture is crucial to advancing and improving the profession. Architects need continuing education to maintain competency, to prepare for the future, to fulfill the continuing education requirements for AIA membership, and frequently to renew state licensure.

What Is My Annual Requirement?

As a condition of membership renewal, all active AIA members must successfully complete 18 learning units each calendar year, with at least 12 of the 18 learning units in subject areas relating to health, safety, and welfare (HSW). Visit FAQs for information regarding HSW.


AIAU is a place for architects to learn and earn continuing education credits.
Learn more



FAQs for AIA Members

Nebraska Licensing requirements

State Licensing MCE Requirements

Becoming an AIA CES Registered Provider

Nebraska Board of Engineers and Architects Continuing Education Guidelines


Career CenterCalendarARE-IDPAdvertiseAIA Nebraska AffiliatesFoundationScholarshipsJob Board
In case of inclement weather, AIA Nebraska will follow suit with Lincoln Public Schools. Click here for school closings.

AIA Nebraska
335 North 8th Street | Suite A
Lincoln, NE 68508

Office Hours
9:00a.m-5:00p.m. M-Th
9:00a.m.-1:00 p.m. F
P 402/858-1929
Contact AIA Nebraska