Honor Awards

2009 AIA Nebraska
Honors Excellence in Design

AIA Nebraska, A Society of The American Institute of Architects, announced this year’s excellence in design winners in conjunction with their annual convention, September 24 – 25, at the Cornhusker Marriott, in Lincoln, Nebraska. The convention theme, Building a Network: AIA Characters Welcome, focused on the opportunities and benefits of networking through the AIA during a challenging economy. 

AIA Nebraska presented 7 Honor Awards, 6 Merits and 4 Citations at this year’s Excellence in Design Awards Banquet, September 24, at The Nebraska Club, Lincoln, Nebraska. The highlighted winning projects were selected from 70 entries from Nebraska architects by the following Boston, MA jury members: Jury Chair, Peter Kuttner, FAIA, Cambridge Seven Associates; Jane Weinzapfel, FAIA, Leers Weinzapfel Associates Architects, Inc., and Lawrence Chan, FAIA, Chan Krieger Sieniewicz.

The Excellence in Design competition is an annual event for Nebraska architects who submit built and unbuilt projects for consideration.  Categories for consideration include New Construction, Extended Use, Details, Unbuilt, Sustainability and Masonry (sponsored by the Nebraska Masonry Institute). Projects are judged based on a variety of features, including unique design, originality, extended use attributes, sustainability, budget and use of environmental surroundings.    

AIA Nebraska support architects in fulfilling their commitment to excellence in design and livability in our buildings and communities. Further information on this year’s design winners and past winners can be found on the American Institute of Architects, Nebraska Chapter’s website www.aiane.org.

To view all of the award winners, use the 'next' and 'previous' links at the bottom of each page. Winners are listed by categories.

<< Previous | Next >>